Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hooking Up Effects To An Amp
BJJSchecter
post Dec 14 2007, 10:27 PM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Santa Barbara, CA
Member No.: 2.307



I recentyl purchased a Koch Multitone (http://gguitars.com/komt100.html) amplifier. I use a phaser, wha pedal, and Boomerang phrase sampler. The amp comes with effects in and out jacks in the rear panel. My current setup is to wire everything in series through the Normal Input of the guitar amp in the front. Does this make sense? The manual is not clear on how to use the effects in of the amp in the rear although it mentions that stomp boxes can be hooked up that way. Does anyone have a comment or experience with this or setting up effects on amps with built in effects jacks. I hope my questions are clear enough.

Thank You!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 14 2007, 10:34 PM
Post #2


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Well I think it may be good idea to put phaser and phrase sampler in the effects loop.Guitar > Wah - amp , effects out(send)-phaser-phrase sampler-effects in(return)...Best way to go is to try putting effects in the loop and going directly and comparing..Some effects just work better through loop (delay)..Experiment,experiment wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
MickeM
post Dec 14 2007, 10:37 PM
Post #3


Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
*

Group: Members
Posts: 8.562
Joined: 9-January 07
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Member No.: 1.062



I don't know what a phrase sampler is but I'd keep the Wah in the amp input while I'd put the phaser in the loop.

Chorus, Phaser, Delay I'd use in the loop
Dist, Wah in the input

try to keep in mind that modulation ()fex chorus) and time (fex Delay) effects is often more suitable in the effects loop (rear of your amp) between the pre and power amp.

but there's no rule to do it that way. It's really up to you where you think an effect sound the best and in which order you should put them for the best tone. Just try different variation back and forth!


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BJJSchecter
post Dec 14 2007, 11:10 PM
Post #4


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Santa Barbara, CA
Member No.: 2.307



QUOTE (MickeM @ Dec 14 2007, 01:37 PM) *
I don't know what a phrase sampler is but I'd keep the Wah in the amp input while I'd put the phaser in the loop.

Chorus, Phaser, Delay I'd use in the loop
Dist, Wah in the input

try to keep in mind that modulation ()fex chorus) and time (fex Delay) effects is often more suitable in the effects loop (rear of your amp) between the pre and power amp.

but there's no rule to do it that way. It's really up to you where you think an effect sound the best and in which order you should put them for the best tone. Just try different variation back and forth!


The phrase sampler, is a looper. Just repeats whatever I play.

How does it physically hook up in the rear and guitar? I think that's where I am confused.

I have Guitar>cable>wha>cable>Amp Input. This part makes sense...

So for the FX:

Phaser>cable>Amp FX in?? The phaser does not need to be connected to the guitar at all??
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 14 2007, 11:28 PM
Post #5


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Ok you go Guitar>Cable>wha>cable>amp in

than you go for FX loop: cable(from FX out or send on the back of the amp) to phaser>cable back to fx loop into FX return or in)...FX send sends out the guitar signal (when you have your guitar plugged in normally into amp input)...It goes through your phaser and gets back to the amp (FX return or in)..So you will need two more guitar cables to do this.. wink.gif

This post has been edited by Bogdan: Dec 14 2007, 11:29 PM


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BJJSchecter
post Dec 15 2007, 12:58 AM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Santa Barbara, CA
Member No.: 2.307



QUOTE (Bogdan @ Dec 14 2007, 02:28 PM) *
Ok you go Guitar>Cable>wha>cable>amp in

than you go for FX loop: cable(from FX out or send on the back of the amp) to phaser>cable back to fx loop into FX return or in)...FX send sends out the guitar signal (when you have your guitar plugged in normally into amp input)...It goes through your phaser and gets back to the amp (FX return or in)..So you will need two more guitar cables to do this.. wink.gif



THANK YOU!!! Perfect! So that's how that works lol....I was scratching my head looking at the back of that not understanding why anything would come out of that!!! So can I put all my pedals in series as well as my looper? So..

FX Out>Cable>Phaser>cable>Flanger (let's say)>Cable>Loop>Cable>FX In?

That is sweet! I have extra cables already so that's no problem. Would this setup also reduce andy noise (hum, static) caused by stomp boxes and loop or is that completely irrelevant from setup.

Thanks so much for the help...can't wait to get home and try this.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Muris Varajic
post Dec 15 2007, 02:26 AM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.459
Joined: 22-June 07
From: Sarajevo,Bosnia
Member No.: 2.159



Hope this loop idea will work fine for you,
if amp has sand-return than it should be used for sure wink.gif


--------------------
Youtube
MySpace
Website



Album "Let It Out" on
iTunes
and CD Baby

Check out my video lessons and instructor board!

The Pianist
tune is progress,check it out!

"ok.. it is great.. :P

have you myspace? Can i to personalize this for you guy?"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
BJJSchecter
post Dec 15 2007, 02:35 AM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 28
Joined: 14-July 07
From: Santa Barbara, CA
Member No.: 2.307



QUOTE (Muris @ Dec 14 2007, 05:26 PM) *
Hope this loop idea will work fine for you,
if amp has sand-return than it should be used for sure wink.gif


It works great! Thanks Bogdan for the tip, I really appreciate it!
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 15 2007, 11:56 AM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



QUOTE (BJJSchecter @ Dec 15 2007, 02:35 AM) *
It works great! Thanks Bogdan for the tip, I really appreciate it!


Your welcome ! wink.gif And you reminded me also to use fx loop more often wink.gif cool.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 16 2007, 04:56 PM
Post #10


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



The whole point of going through the effects loop is to have your distortion and EQ from the amp BEFORE the effect. In your case, it is better to loop and phase the sound independanlty of EQs, and phase definately works better after the dostrotion (distorted phase doesent sound very pleasant).

Good Point BOle, maybe you should use the loop function more often wink.gif


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th March 2017 - 10:33 AM