Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Question - Line 6 Tone Port Ux2, Problem with configuring it
Franky G
post Dec 28 2007, 12:23 AM
Post #1


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Cleveland, Ohio - USA
Member No.: 3.603



Ok - I think I may have jumped the gun a bit.

I wanted to be able to record guitar parts (and the tone that comes from my amp) to my pc, but I cant seem to do this very easily. Im really hoping that I'm just misunderstanding something.

Let me list all the stuff I have to work with first.

I have a digital multi-track recorder, its a Yamaha MD4SE - here is a link to its owners manual -
Yamaha MD4SE Manual

Line 6 Tone Port UX2

PC sound card - Soundblaster Live Audigy 2

Microphone - Shure Beta 58A

Guitar Amp - VOX AD30VT

I also have some software - Ableton Live 7


Again, all I wanted to do was make high quality recordings to my pc, so that I could then monitor them and play other parts to them. Laying down multiple tracks in Ableton.

Ok, so i started off trying to hook up the monitor out of the mixer to my sound card. The manuals for the recorder/mixer says that using the headphone jack (output) in the front of the unit is the same signal as the stereo monitor out on the back of the mixer. If I plug a 1/4 inch jack into that and then try to connect it to my pc ( the other end is 1/8 inch), I have one of two problems. If I connect to the "Line In" on the sound card, I get no sound whatsoever coming to the computer, even if I select it as the recording input in the sound option in control panel. It cant be heard. If I connect it to the "Mic" input on the sound card, its as if the mixer is giving it an amplified signal, and when I try to monitor it in Ableton and get a good recording level it is distorting WAY before a good level is achieved. This is reguardless of wether or not I use the +10 db boost option for the input in windows.
Was this becuase that output (on the front for headphones) of the mixer is the same signal as the one on the back of the unit BUT its "powered" and not passive, creating that distortion?

I was thinking, why dont I just mic my amp and then send that to the sound card, but again I have the problem of getting the sound into my PC, as I the input doesnt seem to be working correctly for me.

Well like an idiot, I threw money at the problem. I thought if I got the Line 6 Tone pro all my problems would be solved. I thought it being a USB device that if I used it, I would simply play the guitar through it, and I could monitor the sound "live" in Ableton. Well, you cant to do that according to everything I've read. In fact the first thing in the manuals says its important not to connect speakers to your sound card, but rather the device itself. By the way this thing came with some software that has Amp models, Pre-Amp Models, and FX Models. The software seems good and the sounds it makes sound AWESOME through the headphones on the Tone Pro. Comes with a ton of preset sounds, makes ya sound just like whoever, and they have an online database that you can get more from.

Does this mean I MUST use external monitor speakers to hear what Im playing through the Tone Pro while recording it in Ableton? Cant I listen to it through my pc speakers as I play though it? If not, that really sucks. I dont have have the money throw down on some powered monitor speakers when Ive got a perfectly good set on my pc, and two guitar amps.


Anyways - All I want to do is get good sounding guitar sounds to my computer so I can play other stuff to them.

Realistically, I could do without this Tone Pro, I had fine tones coming out of my amp, just couldnt get them to the pc. Maybe I'll return it, unless its the best way for me to record.

Got any suggestions?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Fran
post Dec 28 2007, 02:26 AM
Post #2


Learning Rock Star - Wiki Coordinator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 7.921
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Spain
Member No.: 3.338



Have you tried recording and hearing what you play through the headphones, or some speakers connected to the headphones output of the toneport?

I'm thinking of getting a toneport myself, and I thought that's how it could be done.

Good luck!


--------------------
Guitars:
Fender American Deluxe Stratocaster, Ibanez RG2570MZ, Epiphone SG G-400
Amp:
Vox AC4TVH head + V112TV cab
Effects:
Vox Satchurator, Vox Time Machine, Dunlop CryBaby, Boss MT-2, Boss CE-5, Boss TU-2, Boss ME-70
Recording:
Line-6 POD X3 + FBV-Express, Pandora PX5D

GMC wants YOU to take part in our Guitar-Wikipedia!
Have a good time reading great articles and writing your own with us in our GUITAR WIKI!
Share your playing and get Pro-advice from our Instructors: Join REC
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Franky G
post Dec 28 2007, 09:14 AM
Post #3


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Cleveland, Ohio - USA
Member No.: 3.603



QUOTE (Fran @ Dec 27 2007, 08:26 PM) *
Have you tried recording and hearing what you play through the headphones, or some speakers connected to the headphones output of the toneport?

I'm thinking of getting a toneport myself, and I thought that's how it could be done.

Good luck!



According to what I was reading yes. I'm not seeing any answers here so Im guessing I'm either stuck listening through headphones or breaking out another speaker cabinet / amp evertime I want to hear what Im playing while I record another track.

I wonder if I'm having a problem with that Line IN on my sound card. If that were true, I never needed the Tone Pro and insted I need a new sound card, I could use the recorder/mixer like this:

Guitar out ---> In Amp ----> Out Amp ----> In Mixer ----> Mixer Stereo Out ------> Sound card

Then I could select the sound card as the capture device in Ableton and be all set.

unsure.gif



Hey I just wanted to say, I think this Tone Pro is a very cool piece of hardware. I just dont think I really needed it. It comes with a ton of amp models and stuff and like i said up above they sound GREAT. If you just like to click a button and get particular sound this thing does that. But you can ALSO totally tweek it.
Change which amp and its controls your using, what speaker cabinet, the pedals and their controls.
Its like a virtual room full of amps and pedals.
Here in the states the Tone Pro alone is $129. The Model I got is the UX2, and I think that means you get all the additional software. I'd honestly say the software is worth the extra money if you can afford it at $199
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chris Evans
post Dec 28 2007, 10:55 AM
Post #4


Learning Tone Guru - Community Coordinator & Moderator
Group Icon

Group: GMC Senior
Posts: 6.319
Joined: 24-September 07
From: Sittingbourne, UK
Member No.: 2.860



Hi there,

Sorry I cant help you too much as I dont have one of these myself, but until I bought my POD XTL I too was thinkin of getting one so I thought this was interesting, I`ve had a little scan accross the internet for you this morning to see if there was anything in the set up that you may have missed, seems like you`ve covered all the bases in the manual tho sad.gif

try THIS link, its a guy that uses one and gives a brief explanation of using and hooking it up to your PC, if you scroll down the page theres a section called "Listening in" again its brief but may help a little? sorry I dont have a firm answer for you here, maybe some of the guys using other Toneports can help better? smile.gif

This post has been edited by Smells: Dec 28 2007, 10:56 AM


--------------------
Show us what part of the world you live in and get yourself
ON THE GMC:er Location MAP
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Andrew Cockburn
post Dec 28 2007, 12:59 PM
Post #5


Moderation Policy Director
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 10.459
Joined: 6-February 07
From: CT, USA
Member No.: 1.167



One solution would be to hook your PCs speakers up to the Toneport, then use the Toneport as your PCs sound card as well (you can do this with a PodXTL, I assume you can with a toneport too). Dispense entirely with your builtin soundcard and use the TOneport for everything.


--------------------
Check out my Instructor profile
Live long and prosper ...

My Stuff:

Electric Guitars : Ibanez Jem7v, Line6 Variax 700, Fender Plus Strat with 57/62 Pickups, Line6 Variax 705 Bass
Acoustic Guitars : Taylor 816ce, Martin D-15, Line6 Variax Acoustic 300 Nylon
Effects : Line6 Helix, Keeley Modded Boss DS1, Keeley Modded Boss BD2, Keeley 4 knob compressor, Keeley OxBlood
Amps : Epiphone Valve Jnr & Head, Cockburn A.C.1, Cockburn A.C.2, Blackstar Club 50 Head & 4x12 Cab
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Owen
post Dec 28 2007, 01:04 PM
Post #6


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.461
Joined: 16-June 07
From: Scotland
Member No.: 2.113



QUOTE (Andrew Cockburn @ Dec 28 2007, 03:59 AM) *
One solution would be to hook your PCs speakers up to the Toneport, then use the Toneport as your PCs sound card as well (you can do this with a PodXTL, I assume you can with a toneport too). Dispense entirely with your builtin soundcard and use the TOneport for everything.


Yep, this is entirely possible as I do this at current smile.gif


--------------------
Don't Panic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 29 2007, 06:14 PM
Post #7


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



One question? WHY are you using SoundBlaster card when you have Toneport? Toneport is a sound card with great ASIO drivers - much better than your Audigy. ALso TOneport has direct monitoring technology built in. Try this setup: wink.gif

GUitar>Amp>DIout>toneport(drypreset, only add some cab simulation)>Ableton

Also hook up, as ANdrew said, your speakers onto the TOneport. You will need some cables or a cable adapter depending on your inputs on speakers you have. (toneport has two mono 6.3mm jacks for left and right monitor out)

This post has been edited by Milenkovic Ivan: Dec 29 2007, 06:15 PM


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Franky G
post Dec 30 2007, 10:09 PM
Post #8


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 24-December 07
From: Cleveland, Ohio - USA
Member No.: 3.603



QUOTE (Milenkovic Ivan @ Dec 29 2007, 12:14 PM) *
One question? WHY are you using SoundBlaster card when you have Toneport? Toneport is a sound card with great ASIO drivers - much better than your Audigy. ALso TOneport has direct monitoring technology built in. Try this setup: wink.gif

GUitar>Amp>DIout>toneport(drypreset, only add some cab simulation)>Ableton

Also hook up, as ANdrew said, your speakers onto the TOneport. You will need some cables or a cable adapter depending on your inputs on speakers you have. (toneport has two mono 6.3mm jacks for left and right monitor out)


Why am I using my Audigy card insted of my Lineport? Because im a NOOB ! lol thats why!
That why I came on here. Because i figured i wasnt doing something right. Now that you guys said that it makes sense. And Im guessing once I attach the speakers directly to the toneport, and assign it as my defualt sound card, its going to play all my other pc sounds as well. Fantastic !

I'm going to go get the cables to convert fromTWO 1/4 to ONE 3.5mm (which are what my pc speakers use) and see how this works out.

Thanks VERY much guys, i really appreciate it.

Frank
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 30 2007, 10:34 PM
Post #9


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Yes it will play all PC sounds , and in good quality but it won't play midi (does not have its on board midi bank) sad.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Owen
post Dec 31 2007, 01:28 AM
Post #10


GMC:er
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1.461
Joined: 16-June 07
From: Scotland
Member No.: 2.113



QUOTE (Bogdan @ Dec 30 2007, 01:34 PM) *
Yes it will play all PC sounds , and in good quality but it won't play midi (does not have its on board midi bank) sad.gif


It is possible just to use the direct Microsoft Synth thingy, I've not used midi a hell of a lot but I got it working in reaper using the Toneport as my main sound card.


--------------------
Don't Panic.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
post Dec 31 2007, 02:57 PM
Post #11


Bass & Beginner Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 15.612
Joined: 30-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.410



Yes I think It would work with a software midi synth like the Microsoft one wink.gif Good point.. wink.gif


--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.
Check out my beginner guitar lessons course! ; Take a bass course now!
My solo and band songs : Keep Going On, Night Vibe, Kad Te Vidim, Susret, Plava Silueta
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
post Dec 31 2007, 03:28 PM
Post #12


Instructor
Group Icon

Group: GMC Instructor
Posts: 25.396
Joined: 20-November 07
From: Belgrade, Serbia
Member No.: 3.341



QUOTE (Bogdan @ Dec 30 2007, 10:34 PM) *
Yes it will play all PC sounds , and in good quality but it won't play midi (does not have its on board midi bank) sad.gif


It can play MIDI Bogdan, it just doesn't have its own MIDI bank.


--------------------
- Ivan's Video Chat Lesson Notes HERE
- Check out my GMC Profile and Lessons
- (Please subscribe to my) YouTube Official Channel
- Let's be connected through ! Facebook! :)
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 


RSS Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 24th May 2017 - 01:35 AM