Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sore Fingers
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Marcus Lavendell
Even though I’ve been playing guitar for many years, I still sometimes have this problem that’s holding me back: Sore fingers

When I play guitar on a daily basis I get kind of thick calluses/hard skin on the fingertips which really makes it painless to play. But if I take a break for a week, or even just a couple of days, it can be really painful sometimes when I pick the guitar up again. I heard an absolute beginner who said that it feels like the strings cuts the fingers like razor blades. And yes, I guess that's almost how it feel dry.gif

What I’d like to find is some kind of “magical recipe”, like… I don’t know… soak the fingers in lemon juice for ten minutes? smile.gif Or, put superglue on the fingertips and rub vinegar mixed with soap and salt? biggrin.gif Or, etc. etc… well… you get the idea! tongue.gif

Do you have any tips to share?
Bogdan Radovic
I also have this problem !! My fingers hurt if I don't play daily..Looking forward to those tips smile.gif
ZakkWylde
My advice is killing you fingers with a guitar that has at least 11 gauge (or thicker strings) on it in standard tuning. Playing on those heavy strings will hurt like hell, especially when bending a whole step etc... but at the same time it will make your fingers stronger and you'll build up a extremely thick skin on your fingertips that won't vanish soon.
DeepRoots
I'm looking forward to tsome replies here too...i have nothing to share though! dry.gif
Marcus Lavendell
QUOTE (Bogdan Radovic @ Aug 28 2008, 12:47 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I also have this problem !! My fingers hurt if I don't play daily..Looking forward to those tips smile.gif

Yeah, I hope we can make a great list with "Do's and Dont's" here biggrin.gif
Marcus Siepen