Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: !...help..!...dont Know Where To Go....
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Jedi78
I started playing again 1 year ago and joined a guitar school.

Compared to my younger days, ( im 30 btw) the 1 year studying with the guitar school taught me a lot on the theorytical side of guitar. I now know about scales, CAGED, which key goes with which chords and so on.

But somehow, i just feel that im not improving, technically !..i can play simple songs with solos but its just not perfect. I messed up during the solo part. And im just not fast enough. My triplet notes goes out of beat and so on...

Whenever i pick my guitar, the only idea that comes to mind if i just wanna fool around, is the C family and A minor/pentatonic for the solos. Other than that, im blank !!!!...

Maybe i need to change my practice routine. Or could anybody recommend me a good practice schedule and how long do i stick to it.
How do i approach guitar playing or practicing etc....

I envy those people who can pick up the guitar and just improvise on the spot.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Jedi78
Jerry Arcidiacono
Hey there,

QUOTE (Jedi78 @ Jan 29 2009, 10:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
But somehow, i just feel that im not improving, technically !..i can play simple songs with solos but its just not perfect. I messed up during the solo part. And im just not fast enough. My triplet notes goes out of beat and so on...

I think the key is to play over a metronome, or a backing track.
Start to learn some patterns in different neck positions and with different fingerings for each scale you already know.

Whenever i pick my guitar, the only idea that comes to mind if i just wanna fool around, is the C family and A minor/pentatonic for the solos. Other than that, im blank !!!!...

Well, you can start with major/minor scales, harmonic minor, modes and so on.
We have many lessons about these topics.