Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Chords
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Fusar
Hi smile.gif
As I am a newbie to guitar, I started with the lessons with degree 1 wink.gif These are almost all about scales and chords... I know they are important, but I don't want to play them all the time smile.gif I don't want to go too fast, I want to involve chords and scales in my warm-up, but then play other things.
What do you think? Which chords are essential and should be learnt now, before I go further? The others I could learn while my daily warm-up...
Matt23
You should defintely learn chords and scales, but yeh they can get boring if thats all you do. You should learn songs/lessons that you like as well as chords and scales.
Laszlo Boross
Hi! Try to look for a song that you can play from the chords you learnt and practice it.The practice can be more interesting like this.But then don't forget to learn scales and chords!
NoSkill
It depends on what type of music you want to play, but off the top of my head, learn any chord you can that is played in the first three frets and with open strings. Then learn those same chords in bar chord format, then to mix it up, learn them in power chord format. You will be amazed at the variety of tone you will have. Scales and chords are the ultimate building blocks to learning to play guitar. Many people want to skip this step and learn to play songs. At the end of the day, they are playing Dust in the Wind at the campfire. Musical, yes. Entertaining, yes. Fulfilling? It depends on the player I guess. It's nice to know what you are playing, as well as how to play it. Just my thoughts.
Pedja Simovic
If you are beginner, you should definitely start with open chords. Like Tom mentioned, those chords are played within first 3 frets of guitar neck. Once you master these chords feel free to move to more advanced (BAR CHORDS).

Here is one lesson that I definitely recommend you check out. I guarantee it will help you !