Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Going Backwards When Practising.
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
eyestoeyes
Hello!

Been away from the forum for some time. Got tired of the guitar.

Some weeks ago I decided to get serious with the guiar.
I am one of those who have played for several years but learned wrong from the start I guess. Can play a bunch of riffs but sloopy. Christ, I cant even get the bends right.

Well so I thought to myself "I want to be good at guitar". So I´ve been playing 3-4 hours after work and well 6-7 hours at the weekends.

I started playing things slow and the same exercises each day. But well, it only feels like I´m getting worse. I get caught in the b, e strins all the time so I change my pick technique from one day to another not knowing what is right. I don´t know where to begin anymore.

When I get tired of practicing and play some old stuff at higher tempos i can´t play that anymore eather.
Catch 22!!!

What should I do? maybe a teacher would be good to say, practice this thing this way and don´t change it!

It´s getting preety frustrating cause I got the time and the will to do it but it feels like I´m going backwards at the moment.

Anders
Sweden
jafomatic
Well at this point if you're unsure of basic techniques the best thing to do is video. Record yourself playing and post it for feedback. If you have some posture & grip issues, they should be apparent and easy to catch. If you don't have the resources for video recording then I guess you can weigh that cost against the cost of a lesson or two with a face-to-face instructor.

In the long term, being able to record video will save money over time.