Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hello
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Nihilist1
Hi fellow members of GMC. I have been lurking around for awhile now, but I finally decided it was time to join and learn. I have been playing for six years now(three or four of them serious years), but I am self taught. As a result, I suffer from poor technique and a lack of theoretical knowledge. I joined in the hopes that I could fix this. I plan on doing the Steve Vai 30 hour workout this weekend(since it is labour day here in the States), that way I can find out exactly what needs to be fixed.

My main concern is that I can learn theory, but often times, I can't apply it to a song or the guitar; and as a result I forget most of what I learn. Can someone point me in the right direction so that I may remedy this problem. Thank you!

PS. Nice to meet you all.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that the music I usually listen to is metal, rock, jazz, acid jazz, classical, and folk. I love Norse folk especially. Bands I generally listen to include Opeth, Burzum, Agalloch, Yes( Peter Banks and Steve Howe eras), Porcupine Tree, Death, Infestus, Nevermore, Devil Doll(Italian-Yugo band from the 80's and 90's),and Krohm. Black metal and progressive Rock/metal are easily my favourites.
Ben Higgins
Hey there, great to see you in the forums. Welcome, again cool.gif

When you do the Steve Vai workout, make sure you've had a good breakfast ! wink.gif

I find that learning theoretical stuff works best for me in bitesize chunks. Rather than sit down and think 'I'm going to learn loads of theory' I just try and learn what theory applies to whatever new lick I've learnt, or what licks I already know. That way I can directly relate the new knowledge with a physical aspect of something I can already do.

When that fails, I ask Ivan ! tongue.gif

http://www.guitarmasterclass.net/instructor/Ivan-Milenkovic/
MonkeyDAthos
Welcome to gmc!