Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Pinch Harmonics At Higher Frets
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Wheelyonyourface
Hey guys! Wondering if anyone could help me with my PH. I've been playing on and off for a few years but just recently started practicing seriously. I'm learning as much as I can of Satch's 'If I could Fly' but have come across a harmonic on the 17th fret of the B string. I can consistently do PH at every fret before the 15th fret but when I attempt to do them high on the neck they come out as....SILENT! Any tips and tricks would be gratefully appreciated. You guys rock.

-Dan
MonkeyDAthos
Practiced, angle or pick in your thumb, try to find your "own" spot
Sinisa Cekic
The thickness of the picks that you are using is.. ?
Wheelyonyourface
QUOTE (Sinisa Cekic @ Sep 11 2011, 09:56 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
The thickness of the picks that you are using is.. ?

Currently I am using some small dunlop tortex that cant be anymore than .5mm (they do not have a thickness on them). Up until a few days ago I was using any pick I could find. I found that i was very inconsistent with my PH. I guess the smaller pick enables me to hit the string more efficiently. I plan on going to the music store tomorrow and picking up some more of the Dunlop Tortex picks but thicker (maybe .75mm -1.0mm?). I have heard that the Dunlop Jazz 3 picks are the way to go so I may try those.
SpaseMoonkey
QUOTE (Wheelyonyourface @ Sep 11 2011, 06:55 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>