Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hey, I'm New!
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
TesttubeMammoth
Hi guys!

I signed up to this site a couple of days ago and thought it was about time I introduced myself.

Most folks call me Frankie. I am from Norwich in the UK and I am into blues and djent, although I have been checking out the neo classical stuff on here and it is very impressive! Marcus really knows how to shred it up! I posted a take yesterday of his Neo Classical Beginner riff and that seemed to go down ok. Got some great feedback (not the amp kind) and have already identified an area which needs improvement (vibrato).

So, my main intention is to become a better improviser, mainly with the blues stuff but then there is so much to learn in all genres.
Getting to grips with some of that crazy sweep tapping is probably on the cards at some point biggrin.gif

I have been playing for about 10 years (mostly bass! Guitar is still a bit new...) and I mainly use a white 70's reissue strat for most of my lead work, although sometimes you might see me playing an 8 string ltd fm-418 with bareknuckle aftermaths depending on what I am learning. I use a Pod XT Pro Di'd for my effects but am going to buy a cube amp and an SM57 hopefully in the next few weeks to try and get a more organic sound.

I have to say the vibe here is awesome, I checked out some competetor websites before I signed up but this one seemed like the most fun and I think that's really important.

I plan to try and post at least one take per week but hopefully I will be able to do more than that. One of my goals is to get that Parisian Walkways solo down.

I have a feeling this is going to be fun, look forward to chatting with you guys.

Frankie.

Gitarrero
Welcome to GMC Frankie! Yeah, chatting with us crazy bunch of GMCers will be a lot of fun, so be sure to attend as many video chats as you can! You might even learn a thing or two about playing guitar! laugh.gif

Christian