Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oh, Lord: Where To Start
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
pappadaddy
Hello:

Recently retired from high school teaching after thirty years. Yes, an old timer among the rank and frets? I'm a self-taught, play-what's-in-my-head kinda player, so I figure maybe it's possible (now that I have all this free time) to break years of bad habits (never had a formal lesson). So joined GMC. I picked up my first guitar after listening to Mike Bloomfield. I've always wanted to "sound" like him. You know, with those T-Bone sounding licks. They've been in my head a long time. Like to get 'em out. So I'm thinkin' maybe start with scales and modes. I can play little bit out of a box (E, G, A). Or maybe try to learn a whole solo over I-IV-V first. Browsing levels, seems like I'm 1-4, but maybe because I know many "pieces" (50 Hot Blues Licks of All Time!) but don't know how to put them all together. Yeah, too many pieces, and I don't know where to start. Anyway, all I know is that it feels like this might be the right place to spend my time.

PD

I play a "Texas Style" Fender Strat w/2 single coil and a humbucker
Also, a 1970 Guild G-37 acoustic, spruce top, maple back and sides
Dinaga
Hey man, welcome smile.gif

This is definitely a place you want to be if you want to improve. When you start browsing lessons and the forum, it's really hard to stop smile.gif And if you have any bad habits, this is the perfect place to correct them using the REC feature, but it's also the place to learn new stuff, technique-wise or theory-wise. But the best thing is being able to hang out with other guitarists, sharing knowledge and experience.

Rock on mate!
MonkeyDAthos
Where To Start

1º set the goal
2ºbest way to achieve the goal
3ºpractice for it
4ºown it
5ºnext goal
Daniel Realpe
QUOTE (MonkeyDAthos @ Sep 30 2011, 09:28 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Where To Start

1º set the goal
3ºpractice for it
4ºown it
5ºnext goal

great advice!