Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Information Overload
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > GEAR & PRODUCTION
JTaylor
Hey everybody!
To start off with, thanks to all the instructors (Ben, Cosmin, Sinisa, Gabriel, Ivan,..hope I didn't leave anybody out!) and also to the other members for their responses to my previous posts! Most helpful and most appreciated!
I have been going over all the lessons this week starting with the Absolute Beginner series by Andrew Cockburn. I am now on Beginners Corner 9 by Bear Rose and (if I remember correctly) I think Ivan's Pentatonic workshops are next on the list. I have printed over 95% of all the lessons (and if this material is copyright and I am breaking the law, someone PLEASE let me know!) for quick reference, no matter where I am.
I am a little overwhelmed at the prospect of memorizing everything, so I will ask if it is absolutely necessary.
1. Example: A "D" chord is made up of D, F#, and A. Do I need to remember the notes that are in each chord? Are there only certain chords that I should know all the notes to or do I need to know the notes to them all. So far, Bear Rose has gone over about 20 chords and, while I can find them on the neck and play them, I can't remember the notes (except the root) of any of them.
2. Andrew went over the five positions of the A Minor Pentatonic Scale. Do I need to go back and memorize all the positions now, or does anyone know if that is covered again in a future lesson (I have a feeling that Ivan may address this in his lessons but am not that far along yet.)
3. Do I need to memorize every note from the 1 - 12 frets? I actually used color codes on one of my guitars and it helps a lot but I do not want to be dependent on it (looks like something in a toy store at this point huh.gif)!
I have more questions but I will stop for now. Again, thanks to all for their insightful advice! Jon Taylor
Nihilist1
QUOTE (JTaylor @ Dec 11 2011, 11:41 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Hey everybody!