Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Theory Chops?
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > THEORY
The Professor
Just so we can get an idea of where everyone is theory wise, here's a question for everyone.

What is the one part of your theory knowledge that you would most like to improve in 2013?
DeGroot
My main goal going into this year was learning modes and applying it to music. I've been jamming to a lot of different backing tracks to get more familiar with each mode and its color.

Now I'm learning how to build chords that work with each mode. I'm going to be creating my own simpler jam tracks using chord combinations for each mode. Your tutorials have been insightful with explanations and learning how to build chords!

Still have a long way to go with learning all of this. Hopefully after I get the major modes down more solid, I'll can start exploring Melodic minor and Harmonic minor modes. smile.gif
TreyDeschamp
I am a complete beginner in theory so for me all I care about is learning theory and applying it to the fretboard.
The Professor
QUOTE (DeGroot @ Mar 7 2013, 05:47 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
My main goal going into this year was learning modes and applying it to music. I've been jamming to a lot of different backing tracks to get more familiar with each mode and its color.

Now I'm learning how to build chords that work with each mode. I'm going to be creating my own simpler jam tracks using chord combinations for each mode. Your tutorials have been insightful with explanations and learning how to build chords!

Still have a long way to go with learning all of this. Hopefully after I get the major modes down more solid, I'll can start exploring Melodic minor and Harmonic minor modes. smile.gif

Cool those are good goals. Glad you are digging the major mode stuff, I'll move on to the Melodic Minor modes next.

QUOTE (TreyDeschamp @ Mar 7 2013, 05:48 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>