Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Look it’s the new guy!
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > PRACTICE ROOM
Dangitdan
Hi all! My name is Dan and I’m a relatively new player (2 years-ish), creeping up on 50 years old and happened on the site via YouTube. I’m mainly self taught but I’ve tried lessons with several instructors but they never seemed to “get” me no matter how I described what I wanted. Anyway, I’m heavily influenced by the blues and that style of play but I also grew up on classic rock, alternative and punk (70’s and 80’s punk) so my style of play, for now is a bit hard to describe lol. I’m learning your “30 blues licks” at the moment and really enjoying it, it’s exactly what I need right now and is keeping me motivated so kudos to you for that. One question... my biggest problem has always been a solid practice routine for before I free play, ie: warm up, strengthening, coordination, alternate picking, exploring the fretboard etc. I’ve looked everywhere, asked instructors but never got anything worth sticking with. I’ve managed to piece together about 10 mins worth but, hey, what do I know. I try to play about half a hour to an hour a day but, because I’m not really structured and easily distracted, it turns into “fun time” and not so much practice. I think any type of play is good but if I had something more structured to start with before I got into goofing around I’m sure I would see more steady progress. I hope that wasn’t too scatterbrained and any help would be appreciated.
Dan
Phil66
Hello Dan, welcome to GMC, HERE'S something I recently said to another student that may help you. Enjoy your journey buddy, looking forward to you being part of our family smile.gif

Gabriel Leopardi
Hi Dan! Welcome to GMC!!

Let me tell you that you are at the right place. The most important thing of a practice session is to have fun so you are not too far from the perfect session for you.