Rise Against Style Lesson

by Carlos Carrillo

Lesson step:

  • main
  • 1
  • Members only2
  • Members only3
  • Members only4
  • Members only5
  • Difficulty: 4
Scrubbing / forward / rewind: arrow right, arrow left keys
Jump to start: Home or `s` , you can also click/tap the lesson part again (the numbers above player)
Go to next part: PageUP or End. ( iOS: swipe right or left over video )
Volume: ArrowUp / ArrowDown keys
Go to any part: Number keys (combinations also possible)
Pause or play: `k` or space key
Fullscreen: `f`, esc to close
  • Lesson
  • My notes
  • Statistics

  • Hello GMC! Today a lesson acclaimed by a lot of members, “Rise Against”.

    They practise a melodic, powerful hardcore inside the subkind, with proximity to other styles of base as the old school hardcore or powerful forms of rock or combinations of rock.

    Formed in 1999, and originally under the name of Transistor Revolt, they launched a demo produced by them the same so called Transistor Revolt in 2000. This one year before signing with Fat Wreck Chords to launch his first two albums, The Unravelling, and Revolutions per Minute in 2001 and 2003 respectively.

    Later they changed record label to DreamWorks Records and Siren Song recorded his disc of the Counter Culture. Nevertheless DreamWorks Records was acquired by the Universal Music Group, and Rise Against was finally moved Geffen Records, a subsidiary of universally, launching Siren Song of the Counter Culture in 2004. In October, 2005 The Unraveling's reissue was launched across Fat Wreck Chords.

    His fourth disc, The Sufferer and the Witness was launched on July 4, 2006. His fifth disc, so called Appeal to Reason was launched at the beginning of October, 2008.
    Rise Against's original formation was consisting of Tim McIlrath (voice and guitar), Joe Principe (Bass and voices), Brandon Barnes (Drum), and Mr. Precision (guitar and voices), and Mass Giorgini recorded his album début with the recognized producer punk. Mr. Precision left the band in 2001 and was replaced by Todd Mohney. Soon after signing with Geffen, Mohney left the band and was replaced by Chris Chasse.
    In 2006 they recorded 2 songs, “Boys Not Good” and “Built to Last ", for a special disc, which later did not include on the last disc The Suferer and The Witness

    * The Unraveling (2001)
    * Revolutions per Minute (2003)
    * Siren Song of the Counter Culture (2004)
    * The Sufferer & the Witness (2006)
    * Appeal to Reason (2008)

    This lesson is influenced by the brilliant and successful song “Behind Closed Doors”.
    You’ll work aspects like rhythm, scale uses, and different techniques as alternate picking, slides and vibrato.

    The tuning is: Guitar Standard Tuning
    1) E 4) D
    2) B 5) A
    3) G 6) E

    Audio Settings: to record this lesson I have used the POD X3 live.
    Analog Chorus: Depth 66% Mix: 35%
    Analog Delay with modulation: 413ms Mix: 43% feedback: 43%
    Amp: 1990 j800
    Cab: 4x12 78 b. tread mic 57 axis

    Nothing is impossible! Feel the music and God bless you!

    A# Pentatonic Minor:

  • Login to use my notes. No GMC account? Register here.
  • Members practicing this lesson

    Lesson views

    • Total views: 0
    • Member views: 0
    • Guest views: 0