Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Mr. Spock's Applied Theory Galactic Compendium
GMC Forum > Discussion Boards > VINTAGE GMC > Community Activities and Tutorials > Ask an Instructor > Cosmin Lupu
Pages: 1, 2, 3
Cosmin Lupu
Hello there mate! biggrin.gif

This here is your place! Since we will tackle theory for the first tasks, I was curious if you could tell me a bit about your theoretical knowledge so far? smile.gif

It means a lot, so that I can understand where we are at the present moment smile.gif

Cosmin
Spock
I'm a little embarrassed to say I have no knowledge of theory whatsoever, I have never been trained musically with the exception of a few guitar lessons from the local rock guitarist when I was a kid, and even then, my mother essentially paid him so I could sit in the room and watch him jam.

This may be a daunting task. I guess I would like to learn exercises that would help me become faster as well as how, in my mind, I can string patterns together to improvise. I guess the building block to that is theory?
Cosmin Lupu
QUOTE (Spock @ Dec 31 2012, 09:41 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I'm a little embarrassed to say I have no knowledge of theory whatsoever, I have never been trained musically with the exception of a few guitar lessons from the local rock guitarist when I was a kid, and even then, my mother essentially paid him so I could sit in the room and watch him jam.

This may be a daunting task. I guess I would like to learn exercises that would help me become faster as well as how, in my mind, I can string patterns together to improvise. I guess the building block to that is theory?

Always smile.gif Imagine music, as a foreign language. You can't understand what you are saying if you don't know what the words actually mean, even if you can reproduce some with a good accent even biggrin.gif True?

Now, let's begin with the major scale and a nice exercise biggrin.gif

1) We have the major scale built up using this formula: w w h w w w h.