Improv. Freebird Solo
shellshock1911
Apr 29 2007, 07:31 PM
GMC:er
Hey, I play my first gig in like 5-6 months, and since its basically "required" to play Freebird at every local live show, I figured I must as well. I basically know all the licks in the solo, but I want to improvise with it some, so it won't be exactly like the real solo, for example extend the solo about 2 minutes further. But since im relatively new to improvising I was just wondering, what is the best way to do it? I know that Freebird is in key of G, so I would improvise using G minor pentatonic right? And should I learn modes before I try to improvise? (I've decided to wait until Andrew's list of future theory lessons is done before I try to learn modes). Any help would be appreciated smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by shellshock1911: Apr 29 2007, 07:31 PM

--------------------
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 6)
Ryan
Apr 30 2007, 05:22 AM
i just say practice some of yoru licks.and put them into the solo also....and just kinda play that solo a BILLION differents times...each differetnly.....trying out different combinations of licks, and everything...thats what i would do...it will help you get more of the feel for improv., and how to make the solo feel like a freebird solo..but as your own i guess

o yea and about that g minor pentatonic..you dont neccesrily i dont think have to use the mp..just i believe anything in the key of G.....well not anything..but yea know what im tryin to say here....and the modes thing...hmm well idk about that..i dont think you have to use modes to improv. well i know for a fact you dont ahve to..cus i dont know any..and i improv. all the time biggrin.gif