Improvising, Various stuff, not just improvisaton
jammer91
Jan 19 2008, 03:22 PM
GMC:er
Hi Kris, youve been doing a fantastic job with this site. I joined a bit more than 6 months ago and i see so much changes. There have been so many new instructors, there has been endless efforts for site expansions, who would have ever thought of a lesson planner, virtual band and soon a guitar wiki. This site has helped me benefit in many ways as well. Ive learnt so much and, you may not believe it but it has made me more open minded (i used to make fun of blues and jazz and things like that, but now ive been sort of obsessed with blues, and with my change in attitude ive been looking at things in a different perspective). I have undoubtedly become much better, but when i try to come up with my own riffs or try to improvise im still a beginner. The thing is, i can play a lot of intermediate stuff on GMC, but i fail to use creativity and write my own songs, solos, riffs etc.

I then realized the importance of scales in playing. I went through you pentatonic lessons and through some of Andrews theory lessons. They strange thing is the more i learn scales the more i started to become a systematic robot, plucking two notes on each string in a pentatonic scale (atleast i could come up with so killer metal riffs before, but now i dont know why ive even lost that).

As I further let GMC guide me i then came to find out about the term "lick"?
I do not understand this whole licking concept, but the part that i think i understand is that you use licks together to create solos. I understand how to change licks around and manipulate them to use them in my own music. The main problem i face is not quite simple. My theory foundation is in one word- obsolete. But i do beleive that learning scales is enough (dont have to worry about chords progressions and all as long as you know the key). So my problem is as follows: