Alternate Tunings, which can harm your neck
J.E.
Nov 24 2008, 11:29 PM
GMC:er
Hi i just wondered is there any open tunings that can harm my guitar? I was thinking of trying out the Fm tuning like Albert Collins but i dont want to ruin the guitar so i thought id ask here just in case. Cheers smile.gif

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
Can you imagine?
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
berko
Nov 25 2008, 11:00 AM
Hi,

I have no experience with such a tuning but I really don't know why it would harm your axe..

I'm not sure whether Collins did it the same way, but an Fm (F Ab C) open tuning would look something like this:

F Ab C F C (or Ab) F

U dont even have to change string gauge, because the largest difference is only a whole step (if you dont consider to tune B string down to Ab which would mean 3 semitones).

So this is my humble opinion, but I do support the idea to experiment with such "exotic" (at least for me) guitar setups. smile.gif

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
High speed, low drag

Check out my YouTube channel
HERE!

Here you can find my
MYSPACE

+Quote Post
-Zion-
Nov 25 2008, 11:54 AM
Learning Roadie
changing the tuning on the guitar, especially a lot lower than usually *can* do things to your neck.. the tension that the guitar was used to, is no longer there..

i have only tuned it down a ½ step, and i dare not go any further.. not without changing the gauge.. and i am not going to do that.. so standard tuning for me.. wink.gif

however, i am no expert, so i am also very interested in this..

+Quote Post
OrganisedConfusi...
Nov 25 2008, 11:56 AM