Muris Mentoring - Uncleskillet, CLOSED
UncleSkillet
Feb 19 2009, 12:46 AM
Learning Tone Seeker
BACKGROUND

My name is Jeff and I am 41 years young. I am pretty much self taught and learned everything I know now by ear from either learning a cover tune, or it has rubbed off on me just by being around so many other great guitar players. There were about 6 years of my life when I was in my twenties where I really tried to practice a lot and take things more serious. I could never really afford lessons but looking back on everything it might have been cheaper than all the tape players I went through.. laugh.gif I am very excited to have you as my mentor and can’t wait to see how my playing will progress with your help. Finally lessons I can afford! Thanks GMC!.. biggrin.gif

CURRENT STATUS

I feel like I have a good since of rhythm and can hear a piece of music and come up with ideas in my head for melodies and guitar licks. The problem is I can’t always play the ideas that I’m thinking of in my head. My vibrato is OK I think mostly. I just need to relax and make it smoother and consistent. Bending a note to pitch isn’t a problem either. I can AP, sweep and play legato style but not as fast as I would like.

THEORY

Well here probably lies my biggest challenge. Being self-taught I really don’t know that much. I know how to link together boxes and shapes if that makes since. For example once I find one pentatonic box that fits I know where the other 4 boxes are and how to move to them. Same thing with the minor scale shapes. If I find one shape or scale then I know where to go from there. I really want to understand the modes and how to use them for making my solo’s more interesting. There is a great opportunity for improvement in this area.

CURRENT ROUTINE