2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Winter Ballad
Gert1973
Jul 20 2023, 03:07 PM
Learning Apprentice Player
Hi Monica,

Yesterday I started studying the first video and I have problems to see what's really going on and how some notes are executed. I have tried to lower the video speed at 50% but even then it goes too fast. So I will write down underneath step by step what I think is going on in the first 2 bars:

1) Downstroke B-string 10th fret and bend up full tone (in the main video he does vibrato 6 oscillations but not in the slow video) and hold.
2) Downstroke B-string with full release (or half release? I can not see it clear) of the B-string and then bend up full tone again and bring it back down.
3) Pull of B-string 10th fret with ring finger and play note on 8th fret B-string (play note with index?)
4) The note from 8th fret to 7th fret on B-string is unclear to me how he does that. He's not picking the string so I'm guessing pull off and I think he also does a slide. But on the TAB there's not slide mentioned. This is the part I really can not see what's going on.
5) Downstrike G-string 7th fret with middle finger and slide to 9th fret + vibrato (4 oscillations)
6) Then he does a slide on G-string from 9th fret to 2nd fret without picking the G-string. But it looks like he touches the G-string with his pick?
7) Downstrike G-string index finger 2nd fret and bend twice half tone up.
8) On second bend hold and pick G-string again, release bend with pull off with index G-string
9) Downstrike D-string middle finger on 4th fret and slide to 5th fret D-string + vibrato 7 oscillations

There's a lot going on in these 2 first bars laugh.gif

I have quickly looked at the other video's 2-6 and it seems more clear how everything needs to be played.

Cheers,
Gert

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!