Better Late Than Never, -
gibsonmatte
Dec 5 2008, 11:47 AM
GMC:er
Hello GMC:ers!

I've actually been a member here since January 2008 but for some reason I have never found my way to this Topic. In other words I haven't introduced myself but here we go!

My name is Mattias and I live in a town called Malmoe, located in the southern parts of Sweden. I have actually been playing the guitar for approx 15 years but for some reason I still kinda suck at it. And here is the reason why:
I have since the day I started playing guitar been extremely lazy when it comes to practicing, learning music theory and other stuff that I didn't thought rocked. Learning music theory or learning scales when I started playing meant that I had to buy some books or instructions videos that were either extremely boring (the books) or too hard for me to understand (the videos). The only times that I actually "practiced" were when we rehearsed with the bands that I played in, or when we played live.
So basically my development in playing guitar has been more or less none for the past 15 years. I was able to do the stuff that I had to in the bands I played in but that's it.
But the breakthrough came in January this year when stumbled upon a video on youtube with Mr Kristofer Dahl. I think it was a video for Sweet child of mine with Gn'R and once I saw that I "clicked" my way to this site and since that day my world changed when it comes to playing guitar. For the first time in my life I actually found some motivation for practicing! And that's a big thing for me since I'm a bit lazy of the nature smile.gif And also the last year I have learned more and developed more than I have actually done in the past 14-15 years. Amazing!

I'm still extremely impressed of this site and the many instructors that already has helped me a lot! (I haven't been that active in the forums asking questions and more but still big up for David Wallimann who answered my question regarding "holding the pick" )