Hateful Music
maqhem
Jul 8 2010, 04:35 PM
GMC:er
Hi there smile.gif

I just joined this site a few days ago, and hoooolyyyy woooow! It's incredible! There's just so many useful lossons and about a ton of videos that I can't meet and surely never will be able to.

So I just thought I'd make my first post in the forum smile.gif

As you all might have guessed by now, I like playing guitar, but I'm not very good at it. I got my first guitar (Virgo from B. C. Rich) in January, so I'm not very experience yet. But hopefully I'll some day get so good at it that I can even ne day join you instructors here. See THAT would be cool!

The topic says "hateful music", which is what I'd like to disguss, and for you being a little confused right now, let me explain:

Hateful music is metal, but not all metal in general, actually it's only some very specific genres.
Mainly when I think of hateful music, I think of Death Metal (plus sub-genres like Brutal Death Metal, Technical Death Metal, Death/Doom Metal, Blackened Death Metal, Deathcore, Melodic Death Metal...) and Black Metal (plus sub-genres like Depressive Black Metal, Raw Black Metal, Black/Death Metal, Symphonic/Atmospheric/Melodic Black Metal, Unblack Metal, ...).
What I definately do NOT think of as hateful music is anything like Thrash Metal, Progressive Metal, Power Metal, Gothic Metal, NU Metal, Folk Metal, and so on.

Don't get me wrong, I do like a few some genres and sub-genres that are not what I define as hateful, but this topic is just about the most extreme ones, if you get me smile.gif

Now for the point of this whole thing:
I'm a beginner, and I'd love to get good at playing guitar. Where do you think I should start when I say I don't want to play pop, rock, jazz, blues, or anything like that? Let's keep it extreme and hateful wink.gif
Of course I know I shouldn't start at Level 4 or something, since I can't even meet the Level 2 yet. So, which exercises would you recommend me to have a look at at first?