Amp Settings
Star250
Jul 20 2007, 09:30 AM
GMC:er
I've been playing for a while and never really bothered with my Amp settings all that much until i started learning Pinch Harmonics. I was never able to get those crazy low PH until just recently when I changed my Amp settings, and now everything sounds great.

Anyway could someone give be a quick description of what the knobs do and maybe even post your favorite settings for certain situations so I could try them out?

(I have a 6 Line spider II 30watt, Drive, Bass, Mid, Treble, Chan Vol)

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Mer-V
Jul 20 2007, 01:07 PM
As for the knobs:

Drive: The ammount of distortion you want to add you your current channel, this makes for a more 'rocking' sound.
Bass: Controls the lowrange frequencies.
Mid: Conrols the midrange frequencies.
Treble: Controls the highrange frequencies.
Chan Vol: Controls the overal volume of your current channel.

Now these desciptions might now be 100% accurate (I don't own the amp so I can't actually test it), but the knobs you described are pretty similar to the knobs featured on almost all amps. As for the favorite settings, I don't really know much about that, but I'm sure it can be found on the internets. Watch out with one thing though, adding to much distortion to your channel will most likely ruin your sound if you are not specifically playing music which intentionally uses max distortion.

Cheers, MerV

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

+Quote Post
Star250
Jul 20 2007, 02:21 PM
What is a channel? and how does Chan Vol differ from Master vol?

+Quote Post
Sircraigery