Question Regarding *progressive Rock/metal*
Vulpine
Apr 23 2013, 07:06 AM
GMC:er
Hiya GMC = ) I was curious what progressive rock and progressive metal ment, the reason I asked is because i am tryng to find the genre that I currently play but I also am interested in knowing what made a song progressive... (any song examples might help)

and I guess my 2nd question was I like to play in the styles of ambient,jazz,hard rock, and some metal influences but im not really sure if u were to label all of that into into a Genre what it would be called so I was curious about that as well ...I get ppl who ask me What kind of music do I play all I can say is Instrumental Rock and even tho im not an expert in any of the styles that I like to play I do feel I borrow influences from a variety of styles but maybe thats what everyone does but

anyway one of my guitar teachers said I had a "Fusion Thing going on abit" lol but i dunno

anyway would appreciate it if someone could enlighten me on these questions would help my knowledge alot = )

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Vulpine: Apr 23 2013, 07:12 AM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post

Start new topic
Replies (1 - 10)
Darius Wave
Apr 23 2013, 08:46 AM
Instructor
It's always a hard task to describe the style of what You play. It's usually better to let others do this. You might not be objective enought. I have a feeling that this was easier years ago...now we have soooo many genres. I don't know if this helps but progressive rock i something like Dream Theatre, Rush or Porcupine Tree. But if You use more heavy, scooped tone You can call it progressive metal ha! )

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!