Argue For Your Limitations, And Sure Enough They Are Yours!, A brief introduction and some thoughts from the windy north....
JensN
Jan 24 2008, 02:05 PM
GMC:er
Hello everyone!

My name is Jens, I’m closing in to 39 years beneath the sun, and with regards to where I live (south of Stockholm , Sweden) I’ve probably seen as much of the moon. Not a bad thing though, since I kinda like late nights (about as much as I dislike early mornings tongue.gif )

I will talk a little of the title of this thread, but first I’d like to introduce myself properly.

My musical background goes back to the middle of the 80’s when I started to learn to play keyboard. My first experience in a band was behind the keyboard and there was this guitarist who, just as me, was more or less self taught. This made things rather complicated trying to communicate musical ideas as we couldn’t understand each other. Instead of doing what we should have done, study musical theory, we decided it was a good idea that he taught me everything he could about how to play guitar. Ever since, I have come back to playing guitar regularly.

However, the two of us started a new band together with two other friends a couple of years later. We found ourselves in a new dilemma. Three guitar players and a drummer, and no one on bass. Anyone been there? wink.gif All of us was about as (un)skilled as guitarists so we draw straw about who would take on the “burden” of playing the bass. I draw the shortest straw, took up the bass and was like “Wow, THIS is my instrument”. I loved every minute of it, still do, and so I became rather good at it. I’ve been playing everything from pop, indie, R`n´B and funk to heavy rock and metal in different bands as a bassist.

All this time I was also composing, arranging and recording my own songs in my little home built studio with a Roland D20 synthesizer, a drum machine, my beloved bass and a borrowed Ibanez Roadstar II (still miss that one, a lovely guitar it was).