I've Hit My First Wall, Trying to get back into practice mode after an injury
RobM
Dec 30 2007, 07:22 AM
GMC:er
Anyone who has read anything about me knows that after a life long ambition to play the guitar I started learning how to play this past June. I started weekly lessons and after a few weeks found GMC and started in on some of the easier lessons here as well. I was very determined to become a good if not great guitarist, I would practice 2 - 4 hours a day, every day of the week and enjoy it.

Then about 2 months ago I gurt my neck and had to stop playing and did not play for like 6 weeks. During that time I wanted to play pretty badly but I've noticed that since I've been able to play again I really have not been into it. I've picked up the guitar a few times and tried to practice but I just didn't have that same feeling as I did before. I've forgotten some of the chords I knew , some of the practicing patterns I did before I've forgotten and those that I do remember I'm terrible at. Not to mention all of the callouses have worn off(not that big of a deal).

I dunno why I feel this way because I still want to become a good guitar player, but I don't get the feeling I did before when I picked up the guitar and started to play? Maybe if I just get back to it and give it some time (a few couple of hour a day practices, it will come back to me? Or I'm thinking, once I get back with my teacher it will be good again because he's pretty tough on me if I've been slacking off. What do you think? What have you done in the same situation as me?

Thanks

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
You wish.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
kahall
Dec 30 2007, 07:24 AM
Learning Roadie