A Recording Log, A live recording
Staffy
Dec 5 2009, 01:39 AM
Learning Tone Master
As some of You may know I recently bought a combined mixer/soundcard from Presonus (reviewed in the WIKI).
As a test I took it out yesterday to record some friends of mine as well as run their live sound.
The music itself was solely jazz (which some may not like, but thats not the point here) and is performed by
some of the top musicians in my area of Sweden.

Well, I got the idea to share this recording here in the forum along with the improvements, mixing and the final product and
I invite all interested taking part in the progress with comments, advices, ideas etc. Im not a recording pro, even though I had
a studio back in the eighties with analog stuff, but I think I know how the stuff works (or shall work at least)... tongue.gif

But before I actually start to describe the process so far, I want to show a pic of the whole rig (all equipment except the musicians own instruments) lying in the trunk of my car. As You can see its ultra-portable, but for small clubs it works excellent and gives a nice sound
if You dont play too loud.

The gear I actually used is:

Presonus Studiolive 16/4/2
Dynachord 2*600 W Power Amp
EV 200 speaker boxes
ASUS-G2 running Vista 64 with Presonus own program for recording "Capture" (even though Cubase or any DAW would have work)
and an external harddrive for storing the sound.
Some SM-57's for micing guitar
Stands for the speakers, mics etc.
Cables, of course

The singer had an own mic, the new Shure with phantom power. The bass player uses a DPA-mic (an active condenser mic) + a fishman mic. I decided to record both since the more channels and sources You have the better - then You can choose or blend them into each other. Same procedure was made with the guitar, we had one SM-57 close up to the guitar speaker (amp was Peavey Classic 30, guitar Gibson SG) and used the effect loop on the amp to record a line-signal.