Pick Issue, Need some pointers concering holding the pick
Frobb
Sep 13 2009, 11:21 PM
GMC:er
Heya GMC!

I've been playing guitar for 2 years now, and I've recently started to really evaluate my playing and searching for flaws and working on phasing them out and such. And it's recently gotten to me that I might not be holding my pick/plectrum the optimal way.

Let me straighten things out with a picture. You can find a picture of how I hold my pick following THIS link and another angle can be found HERE.

As you can see, I hold the pick between my thumb and index finger and really tuck it in there. When I pick, let's say the E-string, my thumb will be touching the A string, as you can see in the picture. One thing that struck me while practising tonight is that this might be causing unneccessary friction while changing strings, and maybe even when just picking one string while let's say tremolo picking it.

I reckon this might be a disadvantage yeah? How should one really properly hold the pick for maximum comfort and speed and such? Please help me figure out how to reposition the way I hold my pick!

I've been concerned about the way I hold the pick for quite some time now but I can't figure out how to improve it. Need some help here!! huh.gif

Thanks in advance!

// Frobb

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Ivan Milenkovic
Sep 13 2009, 11:59 PM
Instructor
You will improve it in time in practice my friend. Just keep it easy and stay focused on your goal. I think the pick should be moved towards the tip of your thumb, and the tip side of your index finger. It may be strange and uncomfortable at first, but in time it will be alright. I believe this would solve your problem with tip of the thumb getting into contact with the strings.