Sub Octave Effect
GuitarNewb
Jun 18 2009, 07:23 PM
GMC:er
Trying to learn Seven Nation Army by White Stripes. Got the first part down but sounds nothing like the actual song. Been reading and It requires a sub octave effect to sound like the real song. When I looked into that, there is all sorts of octave effects out there. How do i know which one will work? Never really looked into those before.

You are at GuitarMasterClass.net

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

--------------------
If i spend my time learning real guitar instead of playing Rock Band, I might actually be able to ROCK OUT for real!

Untill than, I'm a guitar Newb
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Skalde
Jun 18 2009, 07:33 PM
Learning Roadie
I believe this song is played in a non standard(open) tuning with slideguitar. Maybe this is why the record sounds so different than your playing?
On the record he plays some parts with bass. Only live he uses an octave pedal - but I could be mistaken.

Don't miss today's free lick. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

Don't miss today's free blues, jazz & country licks. Plus all our lessons are packed with free content!

This post has been edited by Skalde: Jun 18 2009, 07:34 PM

+Quote Post
MickeM
Jun 18 2009, 08:31 PM
Born of NWOBHM, Moderation Team Leader
The Boss Octave OC-3 is probably the most versative Octave pedal at the best bang for the buck.

+Quote Post
Bogdan Radovic
Jun 18 2009, 11:28 PM
Bass & Beginner Instructor
QUOTE (MickeM @ Jun 18 2009, 09:31 PM) *
The Boss Octave OC-3 is probably the most versative Octave pedal at the best bang for the buck.

I really recommend this one! Its a standard...Also its very useful with a bass guitar too smile.gif

--------------------
For GMC support please email support (at) guitarmasterclass.net
Check out my lessons and my instructor board.