Rec Program, Confused as to exactly how it works
FunktheBlues
Sep 20 2016, 07:41 AM
GMC:er
Hello new friends,

As some of you know, I was already a member of two other excellent online guitar instruction sites, but once I saw GMC, i knew immediately I was joining because of the heavy interaction with instructors. I am by no means a beginner having been a semi-pro & gigging for most of my life. I have been playing for 40 years and only started playing again to get my brain working after a terrible accident. Please read my other thread if you want to get a better understanding of what happened to me.

My Story

The REC program I absolutely love because for me personally, I need an accountability coach to make sure I do the assignment we both pick. I will start practicing and next thing I know I am sitting there just writing riffs which is still practicing but I did not finish what I started out to complete.

There are currently eight featured instructors. Are all eight part of the mentoring program because I thought I read somewhere it's just Gabe & Ben running the mentoring program. Is this correct? Or can you choose one of the 8 featured instructors?

Am I correct to assume that regardless of the person mentoring you, all the instructors give feedback regardless if you took one of their video courses or course from another instructor?. If that's the case, this site is the bomb.

If Gabe and Ben are the two mentoring instructors, what exactly does that mean? In other words, can I post a REC up anytime and get feedback or does that only go for people who have a mentor?

Again, sorry for the confusion, but does the mentoring program require a member in the program to meet deadlines and if not, what happens? If I have Gabe as a Mentor and wanted to learn classical, how would that work? Would Gabe assign me classical guitar assignments even though he is a rocker? Would the classical teacher respond to RECs?